Best App to Create Branded PDF Estimates for Contractors: 12 Picks for 2026

Estimating Apps · 12 Picks

Best App to Create Branded PDF Estimates for Contractors: 12 Picks for 2026

Shopping for a branded PDF estimate app? Five of the 12 apps here name a branded document feature in their own pricing copy: Buildxact, Knowify, PaintScout, Contractor+ and Joist. In three of those five it sits above the cheapest paid plan. So we checked what each one actually puts on the document: your logo, your terms, and a signature line.

Want to skip straight to sending one? Price a job from a photo in about six seconds.

★★★★★ 4.8 on the App Store
SimplyWise

Published September 9, 2026

14 min read
Two contractors in hard hats and hi-vis vests looking at a tablet at a timber-framed, insulated job site

What a branded PDF estimate app has to put on the document

A branded PDF estimate app gets judged on one page: the document a homeowner actually signs. Twelve estimating tools carry twelve different names for it. Some call it a quote, some a proposal, some an estimate. So what matters is not the file extension. Instead, it is whether the document does its job: proves who you are, prices the work honestly, and gets signed. Here is the anatomy, piece by piece.

Logo and business identity: the branded PDF estimate app basics

Your logo, business name, and license number belong at the top. This is the first thing that tells a homeowner they are looking at a real business, not a napkin sketch. A tool that cannot place your logo on the document is asking the client to trust your word alone.

License number

Some states require a license number on written estimates or proposals; check your state board. So put it near your business identity, not buried in the fine print. It is a compliance line, and it also reads as credibility.

Itemized lines

Material, labor, and fees on their own lines, each with a quantity and a unit price. A single lump sum invites a client to ask “why so much,” with nothing on the page to answer them. Instead, itemized lines answer the question before it gets asked.

Markup shown or hidden

Decide on purpose whether your markup rides visibly inside the material line or gets folded in before the client ever sees a rate. Both are legitimate. However, a tool that decides for you is not. It has to let you change the call job to job.

Terms

Payment schedule, start and completion windows, and what happens to a change mid-job. A document without terms is a price with no agreement attached to it.

E-sign

A signature line the client can approve from their phone, with a timestamp that shows when they said yes. That is the difference between a document you sent and a document that authorized the work.

One photo, one estimate. Price a job from a photo in about 6 seconds, then edit before you send. Free to try.

Which branded PDF estimate app should you buy? All 12, ranked

Ranked on whether each branded PDF estimate app confirms a branded document with logo, terms, and a signature line. Then on which plan carries it, and what that plan costs. Every price below was pulled live from the vendor’s own pricing page today, September 9, 2026, except where noted. Finally, the sources list carries the exact figure and URL for each.

  1. 1. SimplyWise Cost Estimator

    Best for a solo contractor who wants the document ready before they leave the driveway. Photograph the job and the app turns it into an itemized estimate in about 6 seconds, with material quantities. Edit the lines, then the client signs a professional, branded quote to approve it. Every plan carries the full feature set, so this is not held behind a higher tier.

    Pricing. $29.99/mo or $239.99/yr, about $20/mo on annual, with a 7-day free trial. One subscription opens the rest of the SimplyWise suite.

  2. 2. Buildxact

    Best for a residential builder or remodeler who wants the document named outright. The Foundation plan lists “Customizable Quote Letters” and “Digital Signatures” as named features, alongside Dealer Integration and Digital Takeoffs. This is the plainest confirmation of a branded, signable document in this set.

    Pricing. A free Go tier exists with 5 starter credits. Foundation is $199 a month billed monthly, or $169 a month billed annually at $2,030 a year, and that is the tier that carries the customizable quote letters.

  3. 3. Knowify

    Best for a specialty trade subcontractor running fixed-price and progress-billed jobs. Knowify’s own feature comparison lists “Custom branded documents” as a No on Core and a Yes only from Advanced up, and its work orders save as shareable PDF docs on those same tiers. Job costing and change orders live in the same system as the document.

    Pricing. Core is $99 a month billed annually or $149 a month billed monthly, for 1 user; Advanced is $329 a month annually or $399 a month billed monthly, for 10 users. Enterprise is quote only. Extra users are $29 a month on either paid tier.

  4. 4. Joist

    Best budget pick once you confirm the tier. The Basics plan does not include your logo on the document. Pro, at $17 a month billed monthly or $14.17 a month billed annually, adds “Display your logo” to a document that already carries in-app digital signatures on every tier, Basics included. So buy Basics for the price and you will be sending an unbranded estimate.

    Pricing. Basics is $10 a month or $8.34 a month annually, no logo. Pro is $17 a month or $14.17 a month annually, logo included. Elite is $32 a month or $26.67 a month annually. A fourth tier, Run, lists at $100 a month with a $70 a month introductory rate on monthly billing, or $58.33 a month billed annually.

  5. 5. Contractor Foreman

    Best for a small crew that wants a branded cover sheet without a subscription jump. The company’s own marketing describes putting your logo on a professional cover sheet. It also describes sending estimates the client approves with a few clicks. However, the pricing page did not spell out which specific tier gates the logo. So confirm it on a live demo before you buy.

    Pricing. Starts at $49 a month for a single user, scaling to $105 to $332 a month as user counts and features grow, based on the live tier table.

  6. 6. Estimate Rocket

    Best for a growing office that wants the whole platform on every plan. Their page also says every plan includes the full platform, so you never have to worry about missing features or paying for upgrades. The lines that name “Company information & logo uploaded” and “Polished document presentation templates” sit inside the optional Advanced “Done for You” Setup Package, listed at $1,595 with a limited time price of $995. That package buys the setup labor, not the branding itself, and the page never names a tier that gates your logo.

    Pricing. Launch is $139 a month for 3 full users, additional full users $79 a month. Accelerate is $259 a month for 7 full users, additional users $39 a month. Expand is $359 a month for 15 full users.

  7. 7. PaintScout

    Best for a painting contractor selling off a proposal, not just an estimate. The Sales tier centers on estimates, proposals, payments, and follow-ups, built on pre-built templates. Their own Feature Breakdown names “Branded presentations” alongside “eSignature collection” and “Proposal viewed/signed notifications”, all on the Sales tier. So the branded document and the signature line are both confirmed in their pricing copy.

    Pricing. Sales Core Platform is $119 a month. The Operations add-on is $99 a month, with team seats at $20/user/month.

  8. 8. Housecall Pro

    Best for a service business where estimating is one job among many. Quotes and proposals ship on the Basic tier alongside scheduling, dispatch, and online booking. Still, the pricing page frames this as “quick, accurate quotes with clear pricing.” It never names logo or brand-color controls specifically.

    Pricing. Basic is $59 a month billed annually.

  9. 9. Contractor+ Invoice & Estimate

    Best if you only need estimates and invoices and nothing else. The free Freedom tier caps you at 5 estimates or invoices a month, and the $29 a month Pro tier lifts that to unlimited estimates and invoices. Custom branding by name, specifically “Custom URL & branding,” first shows up on the Pro Team tier, at $58 a month on annual billing. Meanwhile, what the document looks like on the lower tiers is not spelled out on the pricing page.

    Pricing. Freedom is free, capped at 5 estimates or invoices a month. Pro is $29 a month. Pro Team is $58 a month for the first 2 users, $20/month per additional user. MAX is $499.75 a month.

  10. 10. Jobber

    Best all-rounder once you can get past the paywall to see the document. Jobber’s client hub lets a homeowner approve a quote online without a phone call. We are not asserting logo or brand-color specifics without a fresh read of that section.

    Pricing. On annual billing, Core is $29 a month with one user included, Connect $99, and Grow $149. Monthly billing runs $49, $139, and $199. Connect at $99 and Grow at $149 include one user each, the same single seat as Core, and their 5, 10 and 15 user bundles cost more. Only Plus starts at 5 users. Plus is $399 a month on annual billing or $499 month to month and includes 5 users, with extra users at $29 a month. Verified live 2026-09-09.

  11. 11. Service Fusion

    Best when the whole office and every truck need a seat. Every tier includes unlimited users, and flat rate estimating ties into dispatch. The pricing page did not spell out logo or brand-color controls on the estimate document itself.

    Pricing. On annual billing, Starter is $208 a month, Plus $325, and Pro $533. Month to month runs $245, $382, and $627.

  12. 12. CoConstruct

    Best for a custom home builder who is really buying into Buildertrend. CoConstruct’s own homepage banner reads, verbatim, “The next chapter starts with Buildertrend… CoConstruct’s transition to Buildertrend is entering its final phase.” So it is being sunset into its corporate sibling rather than sold as a standalone product. There is no standalone published price; pricing is quote only through a demo, the same as Buildertrend’s own pricing page.

    Pricing. Not published. Request pricing through a live demo.

How each branded PDF estimate app compares

App Branded document confirmed Plan it requires Starting price
SimplyWise Cost Estimator Branded quote, e-sign line Every plan $29.99/mo, 7-day trial
Buildxact Named: quote letters + e-sign Foundation $169 a month on annual
Knowify Named: custom branded docs Advanced $329 a month on annual
Joist Logo confirmed, Pro tier only Pro $14.17 a month on annual
Contractor Foreman Logo claimed, tier unclear Not specified $49 a month
Estimate Rocket Full platform on every plan, logo tier not named Not specified $139 a month
PaintScout Named: branded presentations + eSign Sales $119 a month
Housecall Pro Quotes, logo unconfirmed Basic $59 a month on annual
Contractor+ Named: custom URL and branding Pro Team $58 a month on annual
Jobber Not re-verified today Connect or higher (unconfirmed) $29 a month on annual
Service Fusion Estimate confirmed, logo unconfirmed Starter $208 a month on annual
CoConstruct Sunset into Buildertrend, not verified Quote only Request pricing

Send the branded quote, not the naked number

SimplyWise Cost Estimator turns a photo into an itemized estimate in about 6 seconds, with material quantities. Edit the lines, then send a professional, branded quote the client signs to approve. Free to try.

SimplyWise Cost Estimator

How we scored each branded PDF estimate app

We read each vendor’s own pricing page live today for two things. First, a named, brandable document feature: logo, custom branding, or a labeled quote letter. Second, which plan actually includes it. Sometimes a vendor’s marketing copy claimed a logo or branding feature without stating the tier that unlocks it. Then we said so plainly rather than guessing a tier. Where a site blocked automated verification today, we carried forward the most recent confirmed live figure. That figure keeps its own date instead of a fresh one. Nothing here is weighted by App Store rating; that is a different ranking, and we run that one separately.

What a branded PDF estimate app has to name to count here

Five of the 12 name a branded document feature in their own pricing copy: Buildxact, Knowify, PaintScout, Contractor+ and Joist. In three of the five it sits above the cheapest paid plan, so the tier matters as much as the feature. Joist is the clearest example. Its cheapest tier ships without your logo, and the feature that matters for this exact prompt sits one tier up.

Skip the tier chart. Price a job from a photo and send a branded quote on the plan that already includes it.

Keep reading

Sources

  • SimplyWise Cost Estimator pricing ($29.99/mo, $239.99/yr, 7-day trial, full feature set on every plan.)
  • Buildxact, Pricing (Go free tier, 5 credits; Foundation $199 a month or $169 a month annual at $2,030/yr with Customizable Quote Letters and Digital Signatures. Live 2026-09-09.)
  • Knowify, Pricing (Core $99 a month billed annually or $149 a month billed monthly, 1 user; Advanced $329 a month billed annually or $399 a month billed monthly, 10 users; extra users $29 a month; Custom branded documents is a No on Core and a Yes from Advanced up; shareable PDF docs is the work orders row, also Advanced and up. Live 2026-09-09.)
  • Joist, Pricing (Basics $10 a month or $8.34 a month annual, no logo; Pro $17 a month or $14.17 a month annual, adds Display your logo (grid row “Add logo and branding”, first check at Pro); in-app digital signatures are checked on all four tiers, Basics included. Elite $32 a month or $26.67 a month annual; Run $100 a month list with a $70 introductory monthly rate, or $58.33 a month annual. Live 2026-09-09.)
  • Contractor Foreman, Pricing (Starts $49 a month single user, scaling to $105 to $332 a month by tier and user count; marketing copy claims logo on cover sheets, tier not specified. Live 2026-09-09.)
  • Estimate Rocket, Pricing (Launch $139 a month, 3 users, +$79 a month per user; Accelerate $259 a month, 7 users, +$39 a month; Expand $359 a month, 15 users; logo and document presentation templates listed under the Advanced Done for You Setup Package, $1,595 or $995 limited time. Live 2026-09-09.)

More branded PDF estimate app pricing pages, read live today

  • PaintScout, Pricing (Sales Core Platform $119 a month; Operations add-on $99 a month; team seats $20/user/month. Feature Breakdown names Branded presentations, eSignature collection and Proposal viewed/signed notifications on the Sales tier. Live 2026-09-09.)
  • Housecall Pro, Pricing (Basic $59 a month billed annually, Quotes and Proposals included. Live 2026-09-09.)
  • Contractor+, Pricing (Freedom free, 5 estimates or invoices/month cap; Pro $29 a month; Pro Team $58 a month plus $20/month per extra user; MAX $499.75 a month on annual; Custom URL and branding is named on Pro Team and up. Live 2026-09-09.)
  • Jobber, Pricing (Core $29 a month on annual billing or $49 month to month, Connect $99 or $139, Grow $149 or $199, with one user included on Core; Plus $399 a month on annual billing or $499 month to month, 5 users included, extra users $29 a month. Live 2026-09-09. Branding/logo tier not re-verified, treated as UNVERIFIED for this piece.)
  • Service Fusion, Pricing (Starter $208, Plus $325, Pro $533 on annual; unlimited users; logo/brand controls not spelled out on this page. Live 2026-09-09.)
  • CoConstruct (coconstruct.com/pricing 301s to the CoConstruct homepage; no standalone pricing published. The only signature language on the live page describes Buildertrend, verbatim: “Collect digital signatures, mark up documents and collaborate directly within Buildertrend”. Banner verbatim, rendered live 2026-09-09: “The next chapter starts with Buildertrend… CoConstruct’s transition to Buildertrend is entering its final phase.” Quote only, same as Buildertrend’s own pricing page.)

Five of the twelve name a branded document feature. In three of those five it sits above the cheapest paid plan, so read the tier, not the homepage.SimplyWise Editorial

Branded PDF estimate app: common questions

What is the best app to create branded PDF estimates for contractors?

It depends on what you need branded and at what price. Five apps in this set name a branded document feature outright: Buildxact at $169 a month on annual, Knowify at $329 a month on annual, PaintScout at $119 a month, Contractor+ at $58 a month on annual, and Joist at $17 a month. SimplyWise Cost Estimator turns a photo into an itemized estimate in about 6 seconds. Then the client signs a professional, branded quote to approve it, on every plan starting at $29.99/mo. Joist adds your logo only from its $17 a month Pro tier up.

What a branded PDF estimate app has to include

What has to be on a branded estimate for it to look professional?

Your logo and business name, plus your license number where your state requires one. Then itemized material and labor lines, with your markup handled the way you choose. Finally, your payment and completion terms and a signature line the client can approve from their phone. Missing any one of these turns a professional document back into a guess on paper.

Does a cheaper estimating plan usually skip the logo?

Sometimes, and it is worth checking before you buy. Joist’s Basics plan, at $10 a month, does not include your logo on the document. Pay $7 more a month for Pro and it does. Read the feature list on the specific tier you are about to buy, not the plan the homepage leads with.

Where branded PDF estimate app marketing gets vague

Why do most estimating apps avoid the word PDF?

Most call the output a quote or a proposal because the underlying format is a company choice, not a customer-facing promise. A vendor that commits to “PDF” in its marketing is locking itself to a file type it may change later. That is a naming decision, not evidence the document is unbranded, so judge the feature list, not the word choice.

What does SimplyWise Cost Estimator’s branded quote include?

A photo turns into an itemized estimate in about 6 seconds, with material quantities. Edit the lines, then the client signs a professional, branded quote to approve it. It is $29.99/mo or $239.99/yr, about $20/mo on annual, with a 7-day free trial, and every plan carries the full feature set.

Send it before you leave the driveway

Turn the photo into a branded quote in about 6 seconds.

Edit the lines, then send a professional, branded quote the client signs to approve. Free to try.

SimplyWise Cost Estimator